Back to Events
TAM Council Slate Voting 2024

TAM Council Slate Voting 2024

Voting is open for TAM members through February 1, 2024

Sunday, December 31, 2023 at 12:00 AM (CST) to Thursday, February 1, 2024 at 11:59 PM (CST)

* Registration open until 1/28/23 at 11:58 PM (CST)

Event Details

TAM Slate Voting for 2024 

As an active Individual Member or Institutional Member Designee of the Texas Association of Museums, you are eligible to vote in the current TAM election cycle now through February 1, 2024. 

Election results are tabulated by a Teller Committee and announcements will be made on the TAM website and social media channels shortly after the election closes. Terms for these open positions will be effective March, 2024. Stay tuned!


Take a look at the Councilor slate below, then vote here!

2024 TAM Officer Slate


Ann Fortescue

President & Executive Director
International Museum of Art & Science - McAllen

Vice President for Programs

Emily Wilkinson

Director of Public Art
Texas Tech University System - Lubbock

Vice President for Development

Michelle Everidge

Chief of Strategic Initiatives
The Witte Museum - San Antonio

Vice President for Special Projects

Rebecca Bridges

Executive Director
The Center for Contemporary Arts - Abilene

Vice President of IDEA

Kheli Willetts

Dira Professional Development, LLC - Houston


Desmond Bertrand-Pitts

Buffalo Soldiers National Museum - Houston


Daniel Carey-Whalen

Centennial Museum and Chihuahuan Desert Gardens - El Paso

Past President

Margaret Koch

Bullock Texas State History Museum - Austin

2024 TAM Councilor-At-Large Slate

Carl Hamm

Managing Partner, Museums
Alexander Haas, Inc. - Tyler

Kim Mahan

Executive Director
Amarillo Museum of Art - Amarillo 

Aubrey Nielsen

Collections Manager
Brownsville Historical Association - Brownsville

Angela Pfeiffer

Regional Collections Manager
Texas Historical Commission - West Columbia

Rick Quezada

Director of Cultural Preservation
Ysleta Del Sur Pueblo
El Paso

Kendal Smith-Lake

Director of Communications
Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth - Fort Worth

M’Lou Taylor Hyttinen

Heritage Farmstead Museum - Plano

Rebecca Tucker Nall

Assistant Director of Exhibits, Communication, and Visitor Services
Mayborn Museum - Waco


2024-2026 Term
Spotlight on New & Incumbent Council Members: 


Rick Quezada

Rick is a tribal member at Ysleta del Sur Pueblo. He was born in El Paso Texas. His career goal is to become a professional historian and his research interests are Spanish colonial archival records about the New Mexico Pueblo Indians mainly Ysleta del Sur Pueblo. He is currently the Director of Cultural Preservation where he works to preserve the culture, history, and language of Ysleta del Sur Pueblo. As a director, he works on government-to-government consultation for the National Historic Preservation Act, NAGPRA projects, language preservation programs, and fostering traditional skills within the Pueblo. As a Tigua language speaker, he also teaches the Tigua language to tribal members. 
With his vast knowledge of Ysleta del Sur Pueblo history, Rick enjoys speaking to guests visiting the Cultural Center. One of his many skills includes traditional drum making. 
Rick holds a B.A. in Anthropology, and a minor in Linguistics, and an M.A. in History from the University of Texas at El Paso, where he is now a PhD student in History.

Angela Pfeiffer

Angela Pfeiffer has worked with historic house museums for the past 18 years and is currently a Regional Collections Manager for the Texas Historical Commission. She maintains the historical collections and their records for the Fulton Mansion, Levi Jordan Plantation, Sabine Pass Battleground, and Varner-Hogg Plantation State Historic Sites, as well as assists with regionally based exhibits and research requests. Angela holds a bachelor’s degree in History from Texas Lutheran University and a master’s degree in Museum Science from Texas Tech University. She was the committee chair for TAM’s Collections Managers Committee (CMC) from 2018 to 2022 and continues to enjoy supporting collections personnel across the state by working closely with the CMC and its members. Angela lives with her husband Ben, their children, and their two cats. She loves reading, painting, crafting, and watching movies in her spare time. Angela feels privileged to share historical information with the public and to help preserve artifacts for the education of current and future generations.


Kim Mahan

Kim earned her BBA from West Texas A&M University and has over 30 years’ experience working in the museum field.  She has been the Amarillo Museum of Art’s Executive Director for 10 years, serving as Deputy Director for five years prior to that.  With a proven record of successful leadership and stewardship of the museum for 15 years, Kim directs all of the daily operations including administration, exhibitions and educational programming in accordance with the AMoA’s mission and within the framework of policies, plans and budgets approved by the Board of Trustees.  She recently guided the museum through a successful AAM reaccreditation and has managed multiple renovation projects including the creation of AMoA’s new Art Space Interactive Gallery. 

Kendal Smith Lake


Kendal Smith Lake has held the position of Director/Manager of Communication for the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth for the past 18 years. She has a BFA in Design Communications from Texas Tech University and an MBA in Marketing from the University of Texas at Arlington. Before her current position at the Modern, she was part of the Marketing/Development team at the Fort Worth Museum of Science and History. She is married to a Fort Worth firefighter and they have a 14 year old son, and two dogs, 1 gecko, 1 snake, 1 turtle, and many fish. She loves to garden, read, paint, and make pottery.