President’s Award

TAM’s President’s Award is given annually by the TAM Executive Committee at its discretion to an individual, institution, or “partner” organization or foundation that has done significantly impactful work over the past year within the Texas museum community.


Impactful work must have been accomplished within the past year.
Must be a TAM institutional member to submit. All entries must be produced or commissioned by the museum and must relate directly to its program.
Any entry deemed not to meet these criteria will be disqualified and entry fee will be forfeited.


There is a limit of 1 submission of this Award type per person. Nominees may self-nominate.

Submission Guidelines 

The TAM President's Award is selected by the TAM Executive Committee in collaboration with the Local Host Committee. If you would like to nominate someone for this award, please contact with the subject line "TAM President's Award Nomination" by February 1, 2024. Please include a narrative summary of the nominee's contribution not to exceed 250 words. Letters of support are welcome but not required. 

The TAM President's Award is presented each year at the TAM Annual Meeting - TAM 2024 will be in Lubbock, April 14-17. The recipient will be notified in advance and invited to the meeting.

  • Visit San Antonio
    Marc Anderson
    2023 | San Antonio
  • Cooper Foundation
    2022 | Waco
  • Bexar County 
    Judge Nelson W. Wolff
    2021 | San Antonio Virtual
  • Wichita Falls Alliance for Arts and Culture
    Margie Reese
    2020 | College Station Virtual 
    Howard Taylor and Sara Beth Wilson
    2019 | El Paso
  • Humanities Texas
    2018 | Houston
  • The Summerlee Foundation
    John W. Crain, President
    (Gary N. Smith, Texas History Program Director)
    2017 | Abilene
  • Petroleum Museum
    Kathy Shannon, Executive Director
    2016 | Corpus Christi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum
    Victoria Ramirez, Executive Director
    2015 | Fort Worth
  • Chisholm Trail Heritage Museum
    Robert L. Oliver, Chairman, Board of Directors
    2014 | Lubbock
  • Corpus Christi Museum of Science and History
    Rick Stryker, Director
    2013 | Beaumont