Disaster Recovery Resources

Posted By: Emmy Laursen Community Board, TAM Blog,

Sharing from Texas Historical Commission:

Disaster Recovery


If your museum or historic site has sustained any damage as a result of last week's freezing weather and power outages, TX-CERA is available to provide support from conservators, collections specialists, and cultural heritage professionals. They can be reached at 669-237-2243 or tx.cera@gmail.com. It is also important to thoroughly document all damage, as funding may become available through federal sources. 

Additionally, please reach out to TAM's executive director, alex@texasmuseums.org, if you have sustained damage and we will pass it along to our friends at Humanities Texas who is working with the National Endowment of the Humanities on emergency grants. 

Texas FEMA Relief

Gov. Greg Abbott’s office announced Monday 31 additional counties whose residents can apply for assistance. That is in addition to the 77 counties President Joe Biden’s administration included in a major disaster declaration this weekend. (You can find the counties whose residents can apply here).

For more information on relief and to read the full article, please visit www.texastribune.org

IRS TAX Relief for Texans

Following the recent disaster declaration issued by the Federal Emergency Management Agency, the IRS announced today that affected taxpayers will receive tax relief.

Individuals and households affected by severe winter storms that reside or have a business in all 254 Texas counties qualify for tax relief. The declaration permits the IRS to postpone certain tax-filing and tax-payment deadlines for taxpayers who reside or have a business in the disaster area.  For more information please visit www.irs.gov/news

SBA Loans Low-interest

SBA Loans Low-interest federal disaster loans are now available to Texas businesses and residents as a result of President Biden’s major disaster declaration, U.S. Small Business Administration’s acting Administrator Tami L. Perriello announced.

The declaration covers 77 Texas counties as a result of the severe winter storms that began on Feb. 11, 2021. See below for the list of declared counties. For more information please visit www.sba.gov