TAM 2020 Awards

Posted By: Emmy Laursen TAM Blog,

CONGRATULATIONS to winners of TAM 2020 Awards

Jack Nokes Outstanding Service Award

Judy Reeves
Since the 1980s Judy Reeves has focused her work on preserving the gay, lesbian, bisexual, & transgender history of the Gulf Coast Region. Through her tireless dedication, she has partnered with the University of Houston, the Contemporary Art Museum Houston, Holocaust Museum Houston, and the John P. McGovern Museum of Health and Medical Science in Houston over the years to digitally preserve and exhibit Gulf Coast Archive & Museum of GLBT History for future generations.
TAM's Jack Nokes Outstanding Service Award was established to recognize significant contributions to the museum field, service to TAM, and truly remarkable individuals. Presented each year at the Annual Business Meeting of the Texas Association of Museums, this award is named in honor Jack Nokes, TAM's Executive Director from 1995 to 2008. 

President's Award

Margie Reese
The Wichita Falls Alliance for Arts and Culture 
Margie Reese, Executive Director of The Wichita Falls Alliance for Arts and Culture, formed the Regional Museum Network (RMN) in January 2019 to foster a cooperative relationship between museums in Archer, Baylor, Clay, Wichita, and Wilbarger counties. This gathering of museum professionals and volunteers throughout the Wichita Falls area discuss issues, share ideas, and learn from a pool of expertise and has had a significant impact on the way participating museums see their missions and on the relationships and collaborative potential among them. 
TAM’s President’s Award is given annually by the TAM Executive Committee at its discretion to an individual, institution or “partner” organization or foundation that has done significantly impactful work over the past year within the Texas museum community.

Jo Stewart Randel Award

Benjamin Warren 
Over three generations, the Warren family has demonstrated an outstanding commitment to service and philanthropy in the Houston community. Their actions stand as a beacon of hope for everyone who witnessed firsthand or was affected by the Holocaust. Their passion and long-term commitment to Holocaust Museum Houston has earned Mr. Warren the Jo Stewart Randel Outstanding Trustee Award.
The award is named in honor and memory of Jo Stewart Randel (1915-2002), an exemplary museum trustee from the Texas panhandle. The award recognizes excellence and distinguished contributions by a volunteer trustee to museums in Texas. Presented each year in conjunction with the Annual Business Meeting of the Texas Association of Museums, this award spotlights an outstanding trustee whose visionary leadership has made a significant impact on the museum he or she serves.

Mitchell A.Wilder Publication Design Award Competition

Centennial Museum and Chihuahuan Desert
Gardens at University of Texas El Paso
Dallas Museum of Art
Longview Museum of Fine Arts
Museum of Texas Tech
Whitehead Memorial Museum

The Texas Association of Museums Media Innovations & Excellence Awards (TAMMIES)

Art Museum of South Texas
Bullock Texas State History Museum
 Holocaust Museum Houston