TAM 2024 Award Recipients

TAM Blog,

People's Awards | TAM 2024

TAM President, Ann Fortescue and Executive Director of the Charles Adams Studio Project, Chad Plunket

The TAM Jo Stewart Randel Outstanding Trustee Award recognizes excellence and distinguished contributions by a volunteer trustee to museums in Texas. This award spotlights one outstanding trustee whose visionary leadership has made a significant impact on the museum(s) he or she serves. The award is named in honor and memory of Jo Stewart Randel (1915-2002), an exemplary museum trustee from the Texas panhandle who represented the Carson County Square House Museum.

Sally Murray's journey began in East Texas, but her heart found its home in Lubbock at the Texas Tech University (TTU). She was captivated by TTU's Spanish Renaissance-style architecture on her first visit, sparking a lifelong connection. Despite her friends' choices, Sally chose TTU for her education, earning a bachelor's degree in education. Her life with her late husband, Dr. Grover Murray, was marked by giving. Grover, a respected geologist and former TTU president, established the President’s Council, now the Chancellor’s Council, supporting students and faculty. Sally continues their legacy, emphasizing the importance of giving back. Her impact extends beyond TTU and in the museum world, inspiring others to support education, culture, history and create opportunities for future generations.

TAM President Ann Fortescue; Award Recipient, Sally Murray; and Executive Director of the National Ranching Heritage Center, Jim Bret Campbell

The TAM President’s Award is given annually by the TAM Executive Committee at its discretion to an individual, institution or “partner” organization or foundation that has done significantly impactful work within the Texas museum community.

Civic Lubbock, Inc., established in 1956, is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization dedicated to promoting cultural, educational, and entertainment activities in Lubbock and the surrounding area. Through grant funding programs, it supports local arts and cultural organizations, promotes musicians and songwriters, administers the West Texas Walk of Fame, preserves Lubbock's musical heritage, and manages public art projects. Revenue from concessions, catering, and Select-a-Seat operations, along with a portion of the Hotel Occupancy Tax, sustains its activities. The board, comprising individuals with diverse expertise, is committed to enhancing the arts and entertainment scene in Lubbock.

TAM President, Ann Fortescue; City of Lubbock Assistant City Manager, Brooke Witcher; and Civic Lubbock President, Jim Douglass

TAM's Jack Nokes Outstanding Service Award was established to recognize significant contributions to the museum field, service to TAM, and truly remarkable individuals. Presented each year at the Annual Meeting of the Texas Association of Museums, this award is named in honor Jack Nokes, TAM Executive Director (1995 -2008).

Dr. Eileen Johnson, a pivotal figure at the Lubbock Lake Landmark, has dedicated over fifty years to archaeological research and preservation. Joining Texas Tech University in 1972, she transformed the site from Holden’s initial excavation into a renowned research and visitor center. Under her leadership, the landmark gained international recognition, hosting scholars and volunteers worldwide. Johnson's contributions extend beyond the field; she emphasizes community involvement and education. Today, visitors experience a vibrant research campus, thanks to her dedication. As Johnson continues her work, the Lubbock Lake Landmark stands as a testament to her commitment to preserving ancient heritage.

TAM President Ann Fortescue; Award Recipient, Dr. Johnson; TTU Associate Professor of Practice and Associate Chair, Sally Shelton; and Museum of TTU Assistant Director for Operations and Facilities, Cameron Saffell

Institutional Awards | TAM 2024 

Thank you to the TAM 2024 Awards Committee, Chaired by Lindsey Maestri, Executive Director at LHUCA

Lindsey Maestri, Chair of the TAM 2024 Awards Committee and Executive DIrector of LHUCA

TAM promotes the highest standards of graphic design and media production through the annual Mitchell A.Wilder Publication Design Award Competition. The award is named in honor of one of the early advocates of excellence in museum publications, Mitchell A. Wilder (1913-1979), founding director of the Amon Carter Museum in Fort Worth.

The Texas Association of Museums Media Innovation & Excellence Awards, or TAMMIES for short, are designed to showcase museums that are doing innovative things with media and technology. We want to see how your museums are incorporating technology into exhibits and programs; how you are using technology to reach virtual audiences outside of the traditional museum space; and how you are using social media to engage with audiences in innovative ways.