TAM 2023 Award Recipients

TAM Blog,

Thank you to the TAM 2023 Awards Committee, Chaired by Mimi Quintanilla. 

Their deep roots in San Antonio, diversity, wealth of museum experience, and award-winning design and exhibit skills have truly set them apart and helped to make this committee and the awards process more meaningful and impactful for the TAM community moving forward. Thank you Mimi Quintanilla & the Awards Committee for your time, effort, and expertise. 

TAM's Jack Nokes Outstanding Service Award was established to recognize significant contributions to the museum field, service to TAM, and truly remarkable individuals. Presented each year at the Annual Meeting of the Texas Association of Museums, this award is named in honor Jack Nokes, TAM Executive Director (1995 -2008).

This year's Jack Nokes Outstanding Service Award went to Marise McDermott. Marise McDermott has 30 years of experience in cultural arts, most recently as President and CEO of the Witte Museum, where Nature, Science and Culture meet, since 2004. McDermott led the $100 million campus expansion, with 174,000 square feet of change for New Witte. McDermott serves as Chair of the Accreditation Commission for the American Alliance of Museums and has given numerous presentations at museum conferences. McDermott was a TriChair of the Alamo Advisory Committee, was founding Chair of Luminaria, was Chair of the San Antonio Convention and Visitors Bureau, and currently serves on the Midtown/Brackenridge TIRZ Board. McDermott was named 2013 Executive Woman of the Year by the San Antonio Greater Chamber of Commerce, was the 2015 Texas Patriot Award by the Daughters of the Republic of Texas, Alamo Mission Chapter, was named Texas State University Liberal Arts Alumni of the Year in 2016, where she earned her Masters in Fine Arts (1996), was named the 2017 Business Person of the Year by the San Antonio Business Journal and was a 2019 San Antonio Women’s Chamber of Commerce Foundation’s Constellation of Stars Awards Honoree.

Peggy Walker, Witte Trustee, introducing Marise McDermott and the Jack Nokes Outstanding Service Award.

Marise McDermott, President & CEO of the Witte Museum accepting the Jack Nokes Outstanding Service Award from TAM President, Ann Fortescue, and Peggy Walker, Witte Trustee. 

Marise McDemott, winner of the TAM 2023 Jack Nokes Outstanding Service Award, with Peggy Walker, Witte trustee. 

The TAM President’s Award is given annually by the TAM Executive Committee at its discretion to an individual, institution or “partner” organization or foundation that has done significantly impactful work within the Texas museum community.

Visit San Antonio showcases the City's unique culture, history, and attractions. Through their efforts, Visit San Antonio has had a significant impact on the community as they work closely with local businesses, institutions, museums, and attractions to develop and implement strategies that drive tourism to the area. Visit San Antonio's efforts have not only increased the City's popularity in the nation but also helped to preserve and promote the city's rich cultural heritage.

President and CEO of the Briscoe Western Art Museum, Michael Duchemin, presenting the TAM President's Award to Visit San Antonio. 

Marc Anderson, President and CEO of Visit San Antonio, accepting the TAM President's Award on behalf of Visit San Antonio. 

The TAM Jo Stewart Randel Outstanding Trustee Award recognizes excellence and distinguished contributions by a volunteer trustee to museums in Texas. This award spotlights one outstanding trustee whose visionary leadership has made a significant impact on the museum(s) he or she serves. The award is named in honor and memory of Jo Stewart Randel (1915-2002), an exemplary museum trustee from the Texas panhandle.

Esperanza “Hope” Andrade is the Co-Founder & Partner of GO RIO San Antonio River Cruises, a former Texas Secretary of State, and a lifelong advocate for San Antonio and its business community. Hope has been a successful entrepreneur, business leader, and government official in the state of Texas for more than three decades. She has served as Texas’ first Latina Secretary of State, Texas Workforce Commissioner, and Texas Department of Transportation Commissioner. An entrepreneur who has created and grown multiple companies, Hope brings a broad business perspective with particular expertise in healthcare, transportation, workforce, and economic development. Hope has served as Tri Chair of Connect SA, on the Executive Committee Member of the San Antonio Economic Development Foundation, Chair of the San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, Vice Chairman of the San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, Board Member of Free Trade Alliance, Board Member of the San Antonio Symphony, and Trustee of Our Lady of the Lake University. She currently serves as Chair of Via Transit Authority, Chair of the Alamo Management Committee, Board Member of Alamo Trust, Inc., Board Member of Texas State Aquarium, Board Member of Great Springs Project, Member of LBJ Women’s Campaign School Advisory Board and Board Member of the Texas Hispanic Policy Foundation.

Kate Rogers, Executive Director of the Alamo Trust, Inc. introducing Secretary Andrade to TAM 2023 attendees. 

A standing ovation in the Witte Museum's Mays Center for Secretary Andrade, who received the Jo Stewart Randel Outstanding Trustee Award.

TAM 2023 Award Winners: Marc Anderson, President & CEO of Visit San Antonio, Marise McDermott, President & CEO of the Witte Museum, and Secretary Hope Andrade. 

Awards Committee Chair, Mimi Quintanilla, presenting the Mitchell A Wilder Publication Design Awards and the TAMMIE Awards.

TAM promotes the highest standards of graphic design and media production through the annual Mitchell A.Wilder Publication Design Award Competition. The award is named in honor of one of the early advocates of excellence in museum publications, Mitchell A. Wilder (1913-1979), founding director of the Amon Carter Museum in Fort Worth.

The Texas Association of Museums Media Innovation & Excellence Awards, or TAMMIES for short, are designed to showcase museums that are doing innovative things with media and technology. We want to see how your museums are incorporating technology into exhibits and programs; how you are using technology to reach virtual audiences outside of the traditional museum space; and how you are using social media to engage with audiences in innovative ways.

The following institutions were heralded at the TAM 2023 Awards Ceremony by TAM Leadership for their award submissions' significant contributions to their communities and the Texas museum community at large. Thank you for your work and for all that you do for the TAM community! 

Award Recipients outside the Witte Museum following the TAM 2023 Awards Ceremony.